Girls Expected to Have Doll Tits

book excerpt

So funny and true! In her book Bossy Pants, Tina Fey writes a list of physical features that girls are expected to have nowadays. The name of this chapter is All Girls Must Be Everything, and she talks about how acceptance of the size of certain body parts have changed since she was a little girl:

“But I think that the first real change in women’s body image came when JLo turned it butt-style. That was the first time that having a large-scale situation in the back was part of mainstream American beauty.”

Ha ha. I thought Sir Mix-a-Lot’s “Baby Got Back” sorta helped the situation, but I’m not really sure.

Fey doesn’t elaborate on who we should thank for the “desirable” doll breasts (though I think Barbie started it), but she’s definitely right about how Pop Culture has twisted things for women — in a major way.

“How do we survive this?” she writes. “How do we teach our daughters and our gay sons that they are good enough the way they are? Instead of trying to fit an impossible ideal, I took a personal inventory of all my healthy body parts for which I am grateful… I would not trade any of these features for anybody else’s.”

I wouldn’t trade mine for anybody else’s either.

One comment

Leave a Reply

