It Would Surprise You, But I Do Have to Wear a Bra

That would be my answer to anyone who asks if I really had to wear a bra. I stumbled upon this Huffingtonpost article, ‘Flat-Chested’ And More Things Not To Say To Small-Busted Women, which took me back to “Flat-chested bitch” is not an insult. I don’t care how many times I have to link back to that message as long as it is read by all the right people. Really trying to empower my fellow small-busted here!

Now, the fact that being called flat-chested is not an insult doesn’t mean that some women do get offended by it. Even I must confess; there’s something on that Huff Post article that I think would bother me personally, and that is the question “Have you ever considered implants?”

Some of my close friends joke about these things mentioned on that article all the time and it’s so funny that even I bring up the subject sometimes just so that I can hear them crack some “flat-chest jokes.” I don’t mind it because they’re my friends and it’s fun, and I know they can only be kidding (they better be).  But if an acquaintance ever asked me that question I think it’d make me sad. Sad because it’d mean that some people would rather see a woman go through extreme and dangerous measures to acquire a more “desirable” bust than to accept the fact that she’s just small, which is also desirable, and most importantly that she’s happy.

men leotardYou know, men are lucky that they don’t have their junk up on their chest, not exposed to the world (not even when wearing leotards) every day the way women sort of have to expose their breasts. Otherwise, this argument would be dead in this man’s world. My next statement would be that more men should wear leotards.

I’m glad to say that I don’t consider the rest of “offenses” from that list offensive at all. I guess it depends on the kind of environment where a girl is raised. I’d say I was raised in a healthy supportive environment, but it just wasn’t the case. In fact, my family and friends couldn’t care less about breasts! It was never a controversy; who was bigger, who was smaller…none of that. Growing up, no one around me ever gave boob dimensions that much importance — as it should be.

Sure I had my self-esteem problems somewhere in the middle, when I started to immerse myself in pop culture, but I don’t remember getting offended in a major way when people like my cousin said things like, “If my boobs were the same size as yours, I’d never wear a bra.” I took it as a compliment.

Anyway, if you have a small bust, take a look at the article and let me know what offends—or used to offend—you (if at all!).

Leave a Reply

