In Search of the Perfect Bra

A Twitter feed read: “Flat-chested girls don’t know the struggle of buying clothes.” I immediately thought, honey, we may have different sizes, but the struggle is the same! At least when it comes to finding the “perfect” bra it is. In fact, I’ve had a much harder time finding a good fitting bra than my big-breasted friends have. We have too few choices in America.

The perfect bra

Can you believe that the best-fitting bras I own have all been purchased abroad? Yeah, because stores in the US… they don’t cater to small-breasted women. I used to like going in Victoria’s Secret (though overpriced to be honest) because of all the pretty colors and the silk and what not. But I stopped when I realized I was fooling myself. Their bras felt good to the touch, but for my body type, and the actual purpose of it, the fitting was awful.

32’s were too small. 34’s were too big. I’ve had better luck at Gap, H&M, and Frederick’s of Hollywood.

Just the other day I read that JOCKEY International, the well-known clothing manufacturer, is “revolutionizing” bra sizes. Well, GOOD! I don’t know how better, if any, this will be for us flat-chested girls, but it was about time someone did something about it. It is not a brand I’m crazy about—I don’t think I’ve ever even bought anything from them—but a lot of women do, and maybe more apparel manufacturers will follow suit.

The perfect bra should cup the breasts perfectly and comfortably. I like them with wires only because…hm, I actually don’t know why. Not too tight, not too loose. The cups shouldn’t hike over and touch your chin when you raise your hands or twist your body. (I have that problem often, like the time my mom asked why my boobs were so high up. Dammit. That’s just my bra, mom!) Also, the straps should stay in place when adjusted.

I swear, slipping straps are the WORST when you’re moving around. They now sell different things like “strap holders” to take care of the problem, but that may only be a temporary solution for some. Almost all of my bras have the straps that cross on the back. Or they’re strapless. I refuse to let a strap ruin my day when I’m running errands, for instance. All the unnecessary garments come off when I’m home anyway, but when the time calls to wear a bra I want mine to be super comfortable.

So, yeah, I wouldn’t say that flat-chested girls struggle less than big-chested women when it comes to searching for the perfect bra. We have the same problem; only in different sizes.

One comment

Leave a Reply

