What to do when you have small or zero boobs and the TV is telling you to grow a pair?

Annoyed. I can’t think of a better way to express how I feel every time I’m watching a movie where they emphasize that bigger breasts are a man’s ultimate desire. There are tons of movies that do this. The most recent for me? I just saw the movie Ruby Sparks—the story of a writer who is having writer’s block after much success in his life and he creates a female character, Ruby, that comes to life, he falls in love with, blah blah blah. I actually liked the movie.

Well, in this movie, the writer tells his brother that he can make Ruby do whatever he wants…

You can imagine where a conversation like that between two men goes. So obviously the brother asked the writer  if he could make her grow “bigger tits.”

If it touches a nerve in someone like me; someone who is already bored of and done with the media’s artificial word, I imagine flat-chested girls with less confidence and more vulnerability would feel humiliated, as if they were not good enough to please a man. And the point here is not “pleasing a man” at all, but feeling good about ourselves. This is the kind of crap that pisses me off about the mainstream media. Why can’t they just quit the subject already? This society is not getting any better.

When I see teenagers online as young as 13 talking about how “flat” they are—HELLO! You’re 13!—it really drives me mad because I know we owe it all to Hollywood. It’s really sickening and I am not buying it!

I am lucky to have reached a point in my life where I feel comfortable in my own skin and I’m able to easily brush off the negativism. But I wasn’t always like this and I know how uncomfortable and hurtful it can be. That’s why I tell my stories, to help girls out there dealing with the same issue realize that, though the media will try to put you down for your “lack of contributions” to men, in the end your self-worth is what counts. When you reach that level of invincibility, nothing can break you. Inflated or flat, think highly of yourself. A pair of fake boobs will probably just end up costing you a fortune and all sorts of trouble anyway. Self-confidence is your cheapest remedy and defense.

7 comments

  1. I’m flat chested and I’m 19 yrs old. I always thought that someday I would grow into atleast a good cup b bra but I never have. I’m having a difficult time accepting it.. but I would never in my life get plastic surgery because I feel like I would be lying to myself.. plus I am a mother and my babys father loves me for not exactly that but he includes that to love as well.. if u know what I mean. So I know Im loved the hard part is does having small boobs make me less of a woman. I know not but it’s so hard to get it off my mind!!! How did u learn to accept yourself

    1. In no way does it make you less of a woman! I’ve been there, too. And you know what, even now, with how much the media wants to push BIG breasts on us, insecurity kinda wants to sneak in sometimes, but I refuse to let it beat me! For me, it was a matter of getting surgery or accepting myself in order to be happy. But just like you, I don’t want to get breast augmentation, so I decided to choose the latter. Natural IS beautiful!

      When you stop listening to what society thinks an ideal woman should look like, you’re happier with yourself. Learning how to accept myself didn’t happen overnight (I’m still learning). Eventually you learn what REALLY matters in life, in YOUR life. The first step towards it is building up confidence. (Search online for tips on how to build your self-confidence.) You have to recognize your insecurities and target them, challenge them. No one is perfect, whatever “perfect” means. One thing I did for instance is I stopped buying big-padded bras and stuck to my actual size :-D, wearing deep necklines with pride whenever possible until I felt comfortable enough to not care. Confidence is the key. Hope this helps! 🙂

      -Marcia

  2. Rebekah,

    You are perfect just the way you are. All woman are worthy of love regardless of beauty, stature, race or creed. Don’t fall into the lie of society

Leave a Reply

